Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – First Impressions

First of all, let me get one thing clear. At the moment I’m taking a Japanese course in college and I learned that “ha” is not supposed to be used in the place of “wa” in a sentence; For example:  “Kore ha” instead of “Kore wa (This is)”. I don’t understand why the shortened title for Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (I Don’t Have Many Friends) is HaGaNai, but not WaGaNai. Is this a Zombie? had that same issue as well; it was spelt Kore ha Zombie Desu ka?.  It just bugs me… 😐

OK, mini-rant aside… So the main character Kodaka Hasegawa has trouble making friends in school because of his delinquent-like appearance. He meets a girl named Yozora Mikazuki who has an invisible friend named Tomo. Realizing that they both have social issues, they found a club kinda like the SOS Brigade from Haruhi Suzumiya, but instead of seeking supernatural beings, they’re just looking for friends. The school chairman’s daughter Sena Kashiwazaki joins in as well, and she and Yozora immediately gets on each other’s nerves, mainly because of the former’s upbringing.

I mentioned this once before on CSW that it seems to be a romance-comedy/harem show, but unlike most shows in the genre, the male lead doesn’t get knocked around like a punching bag, which we don’t see very often so this is a breath of fresh air for me. Since the rest of the cast has yet to gather, I can’t really say for sure. Also, I can’t quite pinpoint on who the tsundere is between Yozora and Sena, but what I can say that neither of them are of that kind. But the activities that they engage in are quite fun to watch, like in the second episode, they play Monster Hunter Monster Hunting on PlayStation Portable PlayingStates Portable.

That aside, this seems like a unique anime to me and I can’t wait to watch more of it.

Leave a Reply

