2011 Anime in Review

Well, true-believers… Before we knew it, another year has come and gone and with it brought some good anime, some decent anime, some bad anime, and some WTF? anime. So which anime of 2011 I thought were great, which ones did I sort of enjoy, and which ones were utter crap? Find out after the jump.

Winter Season

Prince Baka reminds me of an old roommate of mine. He wasn't as big a troll as Baka, but he did his fair share.

Level E
Even though I didn’t like this show as much as I wanted to, I’m not gonna say I didn’t actually find some enjoyment in this series. But still, just when I started to get into this show, it just seemed to me that Prince Baka decided to go wherever he wanted to go with the plot. One episode, they’re all like “There are aliens on Earth!”; Next episode, it’s all like “Let’s make those kids over there Power Rangers and put them in a RPG”. Totally random plot! 😀 (Score: 7.5)

It's getting kinda Eva in here, don'tcha think?

Freezing
This wasn’t the worst thing I’ve seen, but I think I forgot what this show was about. I don’t know if it even had a plot. All I know is that there’s a private school where this one chick that hates being touched fights other chicks, resulting in multiple particles of clothing getting ripped apart, and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lo–(OK, you get the idea) of nudity. Yeah, I’m afraid that’s all I have to say. That aside I thought it was kinda decent, aside of all the Eva references. Then again, I think every single anime has at least one Eva reference… (Score: 7)

I think I'm in love with Yuu... No wait... I am in love!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Is this a Zombie? (Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?) 
I gotta admit: I was kinda iffy on this show at first. Me being a total zombie fanatic, I couldn’t resist watching this show. Only to find out that the zombie is actually based off of a different interpretation of zombies that I wasn’t used to…  and he becomes a Magical Girl… Um, Guy. But at least I get a cute Necromancer girl, so it’s cool. That aside, I actually liked this show alot; The two main characters and their relationship really help drive the story. I was really hoping they’d get together. I mean, they had one the most romantic moment I’ve seen this year in the last episodes, and they’re not a couple? What the hell?!! guess you can’t always have what you wish for. That aside, Haruna’s a lousy excuse of a character who needs to go die. *ahem* By the way, I’m working on a recap post for the entire first season which I’m hoping I can get it done before April, so look out for that next year. (Score: 8)

If Nessa was there to remind us always to wipe our asses, the world would be a better place to live.

Fractale
Despite the director being an utter troll, what with that deal with FUNimation’s stream being temporarily halted, and that other deal with the manga adaptation’s staff, and that other deal about exterminating the Jews (Yamakan’s had a lot of deals this year.)… I kinda enjoyed this series. I expected something lighthearted, which I got… at least up until Episode 3, where they just decided to up and kill each other. …Yeah. Also, it started getting really confusing during the last stretch. I mean I’m not gonna spoil anything for those who haven’t seen it, but seriously WTF was that all about? (Score: 7.5)

Terrorists, your day is through. 'Cause now you'll have to answer to... Bunnies, Fuck Yeah!!

Cat Shit One
Judging by the content, I would assume that this is probably an anime made for American audiences in mind, like Afro Samurai and Batman: Gotham Knight. Aside from that, this was a pretty interesting show to watch. It kinda reminded me of Call of Duty with hamsters. I’ve never played Call of Duty nor do I understand why people haven’t realized it’s been the same game for the past few years. Uh… Moving right along… (Score: 8)

Let's just call this the angst-less version of Madoka Magica.

Houkago no Pleiades
Ummm… I kinda forgot why I watched this show, or what was it really about. I know it was about magical girls and something about cars… Oh well, it was Gainax, so what’d you expect? Speaking of Madoka Magica, I regret not watching that show when it aired. It’s too late for me to watch it now, since everyone spoiled it to Hell. (Score: 7)

You'd expect him to be praised by his female peers. Instead, he just gets a harem. Typical.

Infinite Stratos
Infinite Stratos, Pfft. More like “Infinite Harems”. Seriously, putting one boy in an all-girls school will obviously result in a harem. Honestly, I didn’t like this show. Mainly it was because I was expecting one thing and ended up becoming something else entirely. I mean this show lured me in with its awesome visuals and mechasuit action and revealed itself to me as just a generic harem anime. …Yeah. It was pretty boring to me to the point that I didn’t really care that I fell behind. And I pretty much regret ever watching this show from start to finish. (Score: 5.5)

 

Spring Season

We need to see less wimpy Ganta and more of this Ganta.

Deadman Wonderland
I’ve heard some people refer to this as a dark shonen. Personally I think this is more of an edgier seinen than shonen. I enjoyed watching this show, other than it only went for 12 episodes. I haven’t been following the manga recently so I’m not sure if there was enough story for more than that. And I doubt there will be any chances for a continuation. (Score: 8)

Beast has officially put Horatio Caine to shame.

X-Men
[Watching at 8 of 12]
(I’m still watching this at the moment, but since it originally aired during the Spring Season, I’m listing it here.) I haven’t heard many good things about the Marvel Anime as a whole, particularly Wolverine, so I didn’t watch them. But I felt like I had to at least watch X-Men because that’s one of my favorite Marvel series, besides Spider-Man. They should’ve made a Spider-Man anime instead of Blade. Er… *ahem* Anyway I enjoyed watching this show since I’m a fan of X-Men. I haven’t seen any of the other Marvel Anime nor do I plan to, but even if I do, I doubt I will like them the same as X-Men(Score: 8)

Dude woke up with a CGI Mad Hatter right next to him, of course he'd freak out!

[C] – The Money and Soul of Possibility
What is the best way for me to describe [C]? Well, I guess I could say this is what happens when you throw in Pokémon and Yu-Gi-Oh! with finance and economics. And it’s awesome! This is one of the most unique concepts I’ve seen in an anime and the way it’s executed is on top with finance deals playing out like the Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Game  Too bad it only went for 11 episodes. Darn it, noitaminA. I wish there were another episode or a OVA special that explained some questions that I had left over when it ended. (Score: 8.5)

I dropped a show with a talking dog? What is wrong with me?

Battle Girls: Time Paradox (Sengoku Otome: Momoiro Paradox)
[Dropped at 5 of 13]
*sigh* I don’t know. I didn’t like this show. I thought I would, but I didn’t. Since I never finished watching, I actually underestimated its popularity with its audience since the main character Hide Yoshino apparently beat Zombie‘s main female Eucliwood Hellscythe by a close 4 votes in the 2011 Saimoe Tournament’s first round. (It’s a conspiracy, Eucliwood should’ve beat her. It’s so unfair… 😕 ) To be honest, I should’ve continued watching this show instead of the next one I’m about to mention… (Score: N/A)

I can't blame Shirayuki for trying to kill her. Annoying little brats like Aria needs to be punished... with death!

Aria the Scarlet Ammo (Hidan no Aria)
How does a show with interesting premises suck? High school students trained to use firearms: Awesome! Titular character the ancestor of Sherlock Holmes: Awesome! So what’s the problem? I’ll tell you what it is: Lousy characters and a cliche story. I’ve said quite enough about how terrible a “character” Aria is so I’ll spare you the rant. Also, I’d like to know why Rie Kugumiya keeps voicing these characters when it’s obvious she can do better than this. And as much as I liked Shirayuki, even she started grating on me near the end. Also, Vlad’s derpy laugh! 😀 As I’ve heard, there weren’t enough DVD/BD sales to warrant another season. I can see why; who wants to put up with this bullshit? (Score: 4.5)

Summer Season

Has anybody noticed how abnormally huge Ruri's eyes are for her face?!!

Sacred Seven
Hmm, well… This show was okay, but it wasn’t really a dissapointment. To be honest, the Summer Season overall was really disappointing. This was another Superhero show from Sunrise, alongside Tiger & Bunny, which I haven’t seen but might eventually since I heard it was very good. I wanted to like this show, but I couldn’t. The first half was decent, but the second half really brought the rest of the show down. If it weren’t for the last 3 episodes, I might’ve dropped it. (Score: 6)

BAD TOUCH!! Keep your hands off the loli!

The Mystic Archives of Dantalian (Dantalian no Shoka)
This was probably the only non-comedy show this season I actually enjoyed, mainly because all other shows during the summer season weren’t really appealing to me at all. To be fair, I didn’t enjoy this show that much compared to Steins;Gate and Blue Exorcist, but it was still worth my time in the end. The way it ended, it was pretty open-ended, like they hinted that there might be more to come since there are more Phantom Books out there. But at this point, I highly doubt that there will be another season so I probably won’t cross my fingers for one, unfortunately. (Score: 8)

I'm gonna start saying this to stupid people and see if they understand what I'm saying...

Baka and Test: Summon the Beasts 2 (Baka to Test to Shokanjuu Ni!)
So I haven’t even the slightest idea on why I ever decided to watch Baka Test, but I did and enjoyed it, mainly because it did it’s job at giving out some good comedy to laugh at. The second season overall was actually better than the first, in my opinion. It had more backstory that made me enjoy the characters alot more. I actually found myself starting to support the Yuuji/Shouko ship. Overall, it was a fun show and I actually wouldn’t mind seeing another season. (Score: 7.5)

If someone asked me to describe this show in one sentence, this would be my answer.

Blood-C
This has got to be the greatest trainwreck anime ever. People honestly thought Code Geass R2 was a trainwreck, at least that had a coherent plot. This show barely had a plot and it even took that and turned it into the biggest mindfuck in the history of mindfuck.  The only reason I’m actually planning to watch the upcoming movie (titled The Last Dark) is to put this damned show to rest for good. Judging by the first trailer it looks pretty good, but who knows how they’ll manage to fuck that up? (Score: 5)

Don't cry, Alice. I'll finish this show... eventually.

Heaven’s Memo Pad (Kamisama no Memo-chou)
[On-Hold at 2 of 12]
Yeah, nope. Sorry. Unfortunately, I could never get back to watching this show. I’ll probably finish this show when the DVD release comes around, and then I’ll do a full review. I did like from the two episodes I’ve seen was the show’s premise so that alone it’s worth a watch. (Score: N/A)

 

 

Fall Season

For the first time in my life, I'm officially lolicon for a loli.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai
So this is my favorite comedy show of the year, alongside Kore wa Zombie desu ka?. And no, Blood-C is not actual comedy. It is unintentional comedy, which is even more funnier than actual comedy. And I mentioned this a number of time on how I love how the male lead doesn’t get physically abused by his harem. And this is all because the harem is abusing each other. This show was just too fun to watch. I am desperately hoping for another season. (Score: 8)

This is an accurate representation of the series after the second episode.

C³: Cube×Cursed×Curious
If there ever was an award for “Anime Everyone Underestimated at First Glance”, it would have to go to this. I mean, first episode was full of mindless nonsense that no one would probably find funny. Then came the second episode… and after that the show became full of angsty drama and alot of disturbing imagery. Let’s be honest: I bet alot of folks would’ve dropped this had it continued going in the same direction of the first episode. I know I would’ve. (Score: 7.5)

Trust me, this is all the "plot" you'll ever get outta this show. Unique censors, I'll give it that much.

MajiKoi Oh! Samurai Girls (Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!)
[Dropped at 4 of 12]
Aria the Scarlet Ammo should be lucky. I would never believe that there could be any show out of this year worse than that. I was so wrong. MajiKoi is just awful, even worse than Blood-C. That might have been bad, but it was damn well worth it because of how hilariously bad it was. This one isn’t worth the effort. I’m glad I dropped this show when I did. I FUCKING HATE THIS GODAWFUL SHOW!! UUUURRRRRRRRGGGGH!!!! (Score: 2.5)

Must be awkward for Shinjurou, getting to second base with a AI loli-posessed panda doll.

UN-GO
Since this year started, I’ve started taking a liking to the mystery genre, mainly those with mysteries that are all connected in some fashion, like in The Mystic Archives of Dantalian and Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro. Of course, this show succeeds there in a way I can barely even imagine, but it gets pretty confusing at times though. What I don’t like is since this is a mystery show, you’d expect whatever loose ends to be tied up once it’s done. Sometimes, the mystery remains unsolved; Other times I don’t think the culprit is even arrested. But it was still worth watching, and that’s fine with me. (Score: 8)

At least with FlCl, I can mostly understand what's going on. This show, I don't even...

Kyousougiga
This ONA is crack. I can only describe it as FlCl if Toei made it instead of Gainax, and with hammers instead of guitars. Since I only saw this without subtitles and barely understood what was going on, I can’t really give it a solid rating, but if a subtitled version or an accurate synopsis surfaces, I’ll have to give it another watch. (Score: N/A)

 

 

Multi-Season (and Yet to be Continued)

I wish there was a restaurant where they serve the foods seen in this show. I'd eat nothing else but that.

Toriko
[Watching at 36 of ?]
So this is yet another unique take on the shonen genre. I mean you don’t see many anime where food and cooking is serious business. OK, maybe some, but this one takes that concept and pumps it with so much manliness, it’s actually fun to watch. I’m actually quite impressed at what kinds of foods they come up with. A flower that becomes a hamburger? I want one of those! (Score: 7.5)

Wearing labcoats have never been this awesome.

Steins;Gate
This is the best show I’ve seen not just this year, but in a long while. I gave this show a 10, which is a real achievement for me since this is the second anime to get a 10 from me, the first being Summer Wars. Seriously, everything in this show is just great. Plot, characters, everything. I’m seriously looking forward to seeing more Steins;Gate, what with the special episode and the movie coming next year. Best show of the year? Hell Yeah!! (Score: 10)

If it weren't for Sheimi's huge boobies, her face right now would probably give me a nightmare.

Blue Exorcist
My recent loss of patience with Naruto and Bleach (Especially Bleach) has led me to believe that most shonen anime are way better than those two. Like Soul Eater, I thought this has got to be one of the better shonen anime I’ve seen as of recently. Despite that, I wasn’t all that keen on the ending. I thought it was somewhat better than Soul Eater‘s anime ending, but as lousy as that ending was, that’s not saying much. I’m hoping the upcoming movie makes a better one. ‘Cause I swear to almighty God, if this turns out like Fullmetal Alchemist: The Conqueror of Shamballa did, I’m gonna rage. By the way, how the bloody hell do you make a beach episode lousy?!  (Score: 8.5)

For all we know, Nurarihyon probably slept with her too.

Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan – Demon Capital (Nurarihyon no Mago: Sennen Makyou)
So… like I mentioned before, the first season was one big boring 24-episode snoozefest. After it ended, I just felt relieved that I didn’t have to watch anymore. Then when I heard that a second season was announced, I decided I wasn’t going to watch it. But once it aired, I decided to try out a couple episodes and much to my surprise, I was very impressed. It’s still hard for me to know who all the characters since there’s so many and I only focus on the major ones. So this was a good season, better than the first. I’m actually looking forward to another season. (Score: 8)

Mayu Morita approves of this.

Morita-san wa Mukuchi
So um. I don’t have much to say about this. I watched this show out of the blue, found it pretty funny and cute. That’s it. Yeah, I wish I had more to say but I’m afraid not… (Score: 7)

 

 

 

How does it taste, Yosuke?

Persona 4 the Animation
[Watching at 11 of 26?]
Despite the fact that I’m not familiar at all with, let alone played Persona 4, I still found myself enjoying this series. It took me awhile to figure out what the heck’s going on since I’m not familiar with any of the Shin Megami Tensei games outside of Devil Survivor, but as soon as I did start understanding it, I was immediately pulled into it. I still don’t understand how Yu can keep the same stoic expression what with all that’s going on. Seriously, he sees a naked man on TV and he’s all like “…”, and I felt like I was gonna have erotic dreams after seeing that. 😀  (Current Score: 8.5)

"Sorry, Kenji, but I don't swing that way"

Guilty Crown
[Watching at 11 of 22]
I love how everyone thought this was the greatest thing ever after the first episode, even though it was a carbon copy of Code Geass‘s first episode, but afterwards it lost that status. Oh, the fanbase is so indecisive. 😀 Anyway, this has been one of my most anticipated series of the Fall Season, and well, it hasn’t totally lived up to all the hype that its been getting, but it’s still worth my time, and I just hope that this doesn’t become an ungodly trainwreck like Blood-C did… The animation in this show is just the best. It’s the kind of animation that you’d only see in movies. Makes you wonder if Production I.G. has enough budget to keep it this good for the remaining episodes. I seriously need to buy the OST for this anime. Say what you will about the show itself, but the soundtrack is eargasm… (Current Score: 8)

"Hahahaha! I'm watching you make stool!"

The Future Diary (Mirai Nikki)
[Watching at 12 of 26]
There’s not a single normal person in this show, I tell you! Um, well this show is pretty good, and I’m probably 1 of the 10 audiences that is utterly terrified of the crazy shit Yuno does rather than turned on by it. Once again, I haven’t read the manga so I don’t know what’s to come, but what with the number of remaining players in the game, who knows what could happen next? (Current Score: 8.5)

You know how they say "Everyone has a little Einstein in them"? Well, Kaito has a lot of Einstein in him.

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle
[Watching at 11 of 25]
So what did I call this again? Oh yeah, the Batman of the shonen genre. Where the main protagonist has to rely on his own intellect instead of superpowers. No wait, I called it “What if Professor Layton became a Yu-Gi-Oh! character?” Eh, who cares what I called it? Anyway, like I said this is yet another unique take on the shonen genre which I enjoy watching since I’m a fan of puzzle games like Tetris and Professor Layton(Current Score: 7.5)

 

Other Misc. Anime

Too many to list, so I’ll just list the notable ones I saw this year.

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
[Fnished Rewatching]
Besides Trigun, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood is a show I’ve seen in both Japanese and English dub and yet I prefer the English dub over Japanese. Rewatching this show on [adult swim], I really enjoyed this show even moreso with some of my favorite English voice actors voicing the main characters. Seriously, after watching Brotherhood, I don’t think I’ll ever watch the original FMA anime. Can’t wait to see The Sacred Star of Milos. (Score: 9.5)

High School of the Dead
[Finished Rewatching]
Well, I actually liked this show, crazy over-the-top jiggle physics aside. The English dub is… Well, it’s not the worst dub I’ve heard (And believe me, there are far worse dubs. Look up some of the foreign Dragon Ball Z dubs if you think I’m lying.), but this one suuuuuucks. Some of the voices are either too forced or too quiet, there are obvious name mispronunciations, and there are some lines I think might’ve been thrown into the script for shits and giggles, like they mention Sarah Palin and Wal-Mart Cheetos in a couple episodes. Does Japan even have a Wal-Mart, and do they even know who Sarah Palin is!? That aside, this one dub made me very iffy about any dubs done by Sentai Filmworks. (Score: 8)

Durarara!!
So I started watching this when [adult swim] started airing it and I gotta say this was quite a unique show for me. The characters really drew me in, especially Shizuo… and Izaya too, as much as I love to hate that goddamn troll. I’m gonna make a note to rewatch Bacanno! since that’s like a distant prequel to Durarara!!. By the way, is it just me or does the author have a thing for exclamation marks in his/her works’ title? (Score: 8.5)

Gunslinger Girl and Gunslinger Girl: IL Teatrino
Every once in awhile, I like to do an experiment where I buy an anime series that I have no prior knowledge of and see if it was worth my money. I did that with Eden of the East last year and I liked it. I did the same with Gunslinger Girl, buying the complete series, and I liked it as well. I never thought having cybernetic implants could affect one so much until I saw this show. Not to mention the cruel truth of employing children as trained assassins. Those poor, poor girls…。゚(゚´Д`゚)゚。  I’m not too fond of the shift of art style between seasons. (Score: 8.5 (S1), 8 (IL Teatrino))

Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn
[Watching at 2 of 6]
I finally got the chance to watch this since I don’t own a Blu-Ray player. And I gotta tell you, after seeing the first episode, I can see those six months between episodes really pays off. Great animation and soundtrack, strong voice acting. This could be one of the best Gundam series ever if it keeps up at this direction. It’s a real shame that the DVD version aren’t getting the same release treatment as the BD version. Even moreso since Bright Noah, my favorite UC-verse character has appeared. (Current Score: 8.5)

Mobile Suit Gundam 00: A wakening of the Trailblazer
I can’t believe how much high demand this was in. It took me a month after buying it for Right Stuf to ship my DVD. Anyway the Grand Finale of the show that renewed my interest in Gundam after six years did not disappoint me. Sure was alot of beam spam though. I mean, even the beams shot beams! I’m still pissed off that Setsuna and Feldt didn’t get together… 😐 (Score: 9)

Kekkaishi
I was actually watching this show  as it was airing on [adult swim] and actually liked it. I think it might be pretty underrated, to be honest. What I really liked was that unlike InuYasha, it actually ended somewhere where a story arc ends. The anime covers about the first third of the manga, which I’m currently reading. (Score: 8)

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Season 2
Since I found Haruhi Suzumiya Season 2 online this year, I took this opportunity to watch this show and rewatch Season 1 in the correct order. Last time I watched Season 1, I watched it in episodic order and ended up kinda confused on what was going on. OK, that aside… *ahem* Damn you for making me watch the same episode eight times; and I tried to marathon that shit too! You should be ashamed of yourself! At least The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya was a great movie, although a little too long though. It was almost three bloody hours!!  (Score: 6 (S2), 9 (Movie))

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai
*whew* That’s a mouthful! Okay, you know what? I’m just gonna refer to this show as OreImo from now on, because the full title is too damn long to say! It was mostly about a look into the otaku life and how those outside of it perceive it, which really sparked my interest. I don’t know why the entire family is tsundere, though. Yeah, the dad too. 😕 I still have yet to watch the four special episodes. (Score: 7.5)

Master of Martial Hearts (Zettai Shougeki: Platonic Heart)
Uuuuuuuuuuugh! I cannot believe how fucking awful this show is. I walked into this show knowing it would be bad. And when I walked out, I thought it had to be quite possibly the worst anime in existence. The bottom of the barrel! As much as I think SD Gundam Force is the worst anime I’ve ever seen, after watching this piece of burning dog shit, I’ve realized I’ve been too harsh on SD Gundam Force. And I don’t even want to talk about the utter mindfuck that is the second half of the last episode… 😐 (Score: 1.5)

Angel Beats!
So I heard some good things about this show so I decided to check it out, and I liked it. Great story and characters. I thought the dub was actually somewhat better than High School of the Dead‘s dub, but it still suffers from the same issues. For example, they have problems pronouncing German Suplex (They say it like “German Suh-plex”), and don’t even get me started on “The Cancer”. (Score: 8.5)

Well, that just about wraps it for 2011. See you next year! 😀

Leave a Reply

