A Look Back at Toonami

Yeah, Yeah, I know I’m a few days late, but I wanna get this out because this is important to me and mostly anyone who grew up in the 90’s.

That 17 minutes up there? That’s your childhood.

I don’t know about you, but when I heard that [adult swim] made its whole Saturday block into Toonami as an April Fools, something inside of me ticked, like a reminder as to why I loved watching anime, and the major reason why I used to watch Cartoon Network.

Hell, Toonami is the main reason why I haven’t really accustomed to most western animation nowadays. Looking back at shows like Megas XLR, Teen Titans, ReBoot, Samurai Jack and Star Wars: Clone Wars (Not to be confused with its CGI counterpart Star Wars: The Clone Wars), those were some of my favorite non-anime series on that block. My favorite anime that I watched were Dragon Ball (original, Z, and GT), Mobile Suit Gundam Wing, Mobile Fighter G Gundam, Hamtaro (No, seriously they actually showed Hamtaro), and Naruto.

As a matter of fact, I think I can pinpoint where stopped watching Toonami when I put off Naruto after the Sasuke Retrieval arc. I think that was during the T.O.M.-4 era; Yeah, the childish-looking TOM. That was the same year it got cancelled. After that, I never really watched most of anything on CN outside of [adult swim].

And the best part is, there just might be a slither of hope for Toonami’s return. [adult swim] posted this on their Twitter: “Want it back? Let us know. #BringBackToonami” I’m not totally sure, but the fact that they’re listening means that the rebirth of Toonami may be upon us.

So, want Toonami back on the air? Give ’em a shout and let ’em know.

One thought on “A Look Back at Toonami

  1. djh1991

    I think I’ve watched Toonami back in 2001 when Kids’ WB premiered it, and then I officially begin watching Toonami in 2003 at the age of 12. I never forget the shows that I watched as a kid back in the early 2000s such as: Dragon Ball (original, Z (not the Kai version), and GT), Yugioh!, Pokemon (although I’ve watched Pokemon on Kids’ WB back then), Yu Yu Hakusho (that anime show was totally badass), and Sailor Moon (original; although I was watching the show back when Dragon Ball Z came off, it was on the WB network back in I believe it was 1998? or 1999?). More anime I’m planning on watching such as: Trigun, Big O, Zetch Bell, High School of the Dead, Gundam Series, Rurouni Kenshin, Cow Boy Bebop, and Full Metal Achemist. So I really hope that Toonami will make a return some time in the near future. Also it would be great if the new generation of kids watching Toonami for the first time in their lives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

