Sankarea (First Impressions)

Another romantic comedy with zombies…? I don’t know, Kore wa Zombie desu ka? seems more than enough for me. But damn, I’m like the main character of this show. Uh… sort of. I watch anything that has zombies… except for the Resident Evil films, those movies suck. Well, let’s see if I can take another necrophiliac comedy series this season.

Sankarea is a TV anime produced by Lantis and Studio DEEN, adapted by the manga by Hattori Mitsuru. The 15-year old main character, Chihiro Furuya is a zombie fanatic with a really sweet hairstyle. Those cat ears are awesome. Anyway, Chihiro’s life dream is to… Get this: Marry a zombie. Sick. When his cat, Babu, is killed accidentally by a car, he finds a book that contains instructions for creating a reanimation drug. He meets the titular character, a rich girl named Rea Sanka, who’s dad is creeeeeeeeeepy. Seriously, he takes naked photos of her on her own birthday!! That’s just… wrong. Anyway, she offers her help to Chihiro with his attempt to reanimate Babu.

In the second episode, Rea reveals that her family life is pretty fucked up. We know what her father does, and her mother’s no better. These people sicken me… After Rea gathers the final ingredient Chihiro needed, he uses the drug on Babu to no avail, sadly, so he gives up and decides to let him rest in peace. When he gets home, he finds that the drug was successful after all. However, Rea’s dad found out that she’s been sneaking out of the house and forbids her from leaving the house. Period. The dad is yandere? That’s new. Rea appears to have snuck a portion of the drug and drinks it to end her life.

In the third episode, Rea wakes up the next day, thinking that the drug had no effect and unaware that it actually did work. Her father finds out about Chihiro and orders to have him castrated. Eek! Rea sneaks out to warn Chihiro, who is searching for Babu with his cousin, Wanko. But Rea’s dad gets to her first and threatens to take her back home, but then she sees the undead Babu. She realizes that the drug did work as she falls off a cliff and dies. Rea comes back to life and tells Chihiro to take responsibilty for her.

This is the first time I’ve actually went over the first three episodes in a First Impressions post. Usually, I go through the first two at the most, but I feel like the plot doesn’t properly get started until the third episode. I do like how they take their time with the stuff that’s explained and not rush things out. But wow, this show is alot dramatic than I thought it would be. I think I might’ve underestimated this show… Are you sure this is a comedy? Seems more like a dramedy to me.

Well, I guess that’s that for  First Impressions for this season. You know what? I might consider blogging this show. I’ll decide that when I watch the next few episodes.

Leave a Reply

