From the New World (First Impressions)

I don’t think I can begin to describe this show…

Well, I picked up a random show out of fear of continuing to torture myself by watching Sword Art Online every weekend. (The least I have to stare at Asuna’s dumb face, the better) So let’s watch another new show which, ironically enough, is produced by the same people behind Sword Art Online.

From the New World (Shin Sekai Yori) is an adaptation of Yuusuke Kishi’s novel, produced by Aniplex and A-1 Pictures. Set 1000 years into the future, the world is populated with children with psychic powers. The Harmony Elementary school was established to help these kids hone and develop their powers. The story follows the school’s Group 1, which consists of Saki Watanabe, Satoru Asahina, Maria Akizuki, Mamoru Itou, Shun Aonuma, and Reiko Amano. There is also a rumor going around that those who do not graduate are taken away by a Trickster Cat. When Saki sees one, she tells her parents about it, which makes them upset because they “don’t want to lose any more children.”

Two episodes in, I think I might’ve stumbled upon one of the strangest shows of the year. I like strange. It makes you think. I’m definitely gonna continue watching this.

Leave a Reply

