Pokémon BW2N #8: Charizard Blazes Again

"So you won eight badges? Still not enough to train me!!!"

“So you won eight badges? Still not enough to train me!!!”

I know it’s been awhile since I did a Pokémon post, but I figured that I needed to blog this episode since this is the moment we’ve been waiting for since Episode N started.

Look, it's the Magikarp salesman. I wonder if anyone buying one is aware how useful Magikarp can be eventually...

Look, it’s the Magikarp salesman. I wonder if anyone buying one is aware how useful Magikarp can be eventually…

Ash and friends, now accompanied by N (Who I assume isn’t part of Team Plasma here), arrives at a Kanto Pokémon Festival that celebrates the original 151.

I love how Tracey just stands there motionless, not even saying a word, in case you haven't realized he stopped being important after the Orange Islands arc. Even Misty and Brock gets a speaking role in this episode. Alas, poor Tracey. His fate is to be forgotten for eternity.

I love how Tracey just stands there motionless, not even saying a word, in case you haven’t realized he stopped being important after the Orange Islands arc. Even Misty and Brock gets a speaking role in this episode. Alas, poor Tracey. His fate is to be forgotten for eternity.

They see a presentation centered around the Kanto Starters. During the performance, Charmander gets injured and is rushed to the Pokémon Center.

Ash gets a moment to tell Iris, Cilan, and N about his own Charmander. As you know, Ash obtained his Charmander after saving him from near death after his previous trainer, Damien (He’s a bishie now!), abandoned him. As he evolved into Charmeleon, he started to disobey Ash and remained disobedient, even as he evolved into Charizard. It even cost Ash a League match at one point. During the adventures in the Orange Islands, Charizard lost a battle and was severly injured to near death. After Ash nursed him back to health, he began to trust him again and became one of his strongest Pokémon. During his adventures in the Johto region, Ash decided to let Charizard grow stronger on his own at Charicific Valley. The training proved most effective as he has led Ash to victory against Clair’s Dragonair, Gary’s Blastoise, even against an Articuno.

Afterwards, Ash gets motivated to get his Charizard from Professor Oak by exchanging Unfezant. I assume he can send his Unova-native Pokémon to Oak’s Lab now instead of Professor Juniper’s.

Best Brofist Ever or BEST BROFIST EVER!?

Best Brofist Ever or BEST BROFIST EVER!?

When he is introduced to everyone, Charizard forms an immediate rivalry with Dragonite. A battle between the two starts, and it’s revealed that alongside his usual Flamethrower, Charizard has learned Wing Attack, Slash, and Dragon Tail. He doesn’t know his signature Seismic Toss anymore. 😦 The battle ends with N calling it off. And the episode ends with Iris mistaking Charizard as a Dragon-type, when it’s actually Fire/Flying-type and Ash decided to keep Charizard in his party for the remainder of his Unova adventure.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy this episode alot. It was basically one big nostalgia episode that reminded me of the old days. It really shows how far it has come.

One thought on “Pokémon BW2N #8: Charizard Blazes Again

  1. Plasma

    Charizard really is the best. So much nostalgia.

    Check out my website – http://www.plasmamoon.com
    Here is one of my posts:
    Misfortune means Disaster
    The beast groped around my shivering shadow. My body numbed as if in a tempest of terror. Shuddering, I hesitated to move. Distress flooded my mind, slowly and cumbersomely like a heavy rain. One step forward – stop and breathe – another step forward – don’t look at it. After a long, long moment, I froze. I was face to face with the beast, but would I escape its fangs?

    It had all started when I decided to play hide and seek with my friend. Cunningly, I hid in the shed at the back of the garden. Unfortunately, he couldn’t find me, gave up, and left. No sooner had I realised this when doom struck me like a laser zap. I was still in the shed – but I was not alone. I was stuck in the shed with a grotesque spider on the handle.

    Misfortune means disaster

    My thoughts gathered. Taunts, threats and encouragement poured down on me.
    “Stab it! Stab it! Stab it!”
    “C’mon! It’s so little!”
    “Chicken!”
    “Scaredy Cat! Scaredy Cat!
    “Yer gunna have to get out sooner or later!”
    “You could put it in that cup …
    …and so I could – but the cup was unnervingly close to the spider!

    Horror surrounded me.
    “Give up loser!” it grinned through gruesome teeth.
    My body shivered; my hands trembled; my hair stuck up on the back of my neck. Remembering my predicament, I took a large gulp of bravery. With a suffocating throat and a dry mouth, I reached out to grab the cup. Poisonous fangs of terror tortured me entirely as I contemplated the challenge of trapping the cup. Arachnophobia stared me in the face, its eyes flashing cold, like fire chilled in a diamond. Sweat poured down from every pore of my being. I glanced ahead, way ahead, way way ahead at the cup apparently shrinking by the moment. Determinedly, I made my choice. It was now or never!

    I was just about to lower the cup when, suddenly, the spider began to scuttle back and forth. I closed my eyes to its presence. I could hear the soft click as it scurried; here and there – there and here – everywhere – slowly at first – then faster, faster scurry, scurry, scurry like a crow, searching for food. Hope sparkled from a small light still burning deep within my spirit. Fight! Courage! Balance …slowly does it …slowly, slowly …ever so slowly. Don’t stop. Not now, spider scuttling furiously. Raise the cup. Now lower …down …down …slam! As I threw the cup outside, I struggled to raise a small smile. I had done it!

    Please give me some support by sharing this link. Thank You!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

