My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU // First Impressions

Ridiculously long light novel title? Yeeeah, no. I'm not gonna waste a breath trying to pronouce you.

Ridiculously long light novel title? Yeeeah, no. I’m not gonna waste a breath trying to pronouce you.

As much as I think some light novel plots are bad, some I find actually pretty good since they know me all too well, like this one.

My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru) is a Brains Base adaptation of Wataru Watari’s light novel. The story follows Hachiman Hikigaya, an antisocial, unmotivated high school student. For punishment for his smart-ass essay about adolescence reflections, his teacher sends him to Yukino Yukinoshita, who runs the Service Club, whose purpose is to come to the aid of others. Also, Yui Yuigahama is sent to them. Together, they help people with their personal issues, as well as each other.

I believe SNAFU is a military slang term that means Situaton Normal: All Fucked Up. Anyway, it’s probably just me, but there is some similarites to this and Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, in terms of the setting and premise. I guess that’s why I was drawn to it. I liked it and I plan on watching more.

Leave a Reply

