Summer 2013 // First Impressions

It’s good to be back.

OK, so to make up for lost time due to a dead laptop, I’m going to compile all the shows I’m watching this season. In addition, I’ll just focus on blogging Attack on Titan this season.

Il Sole Penetra de Illusioni ~ Day Break Illusion (Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou)
This AIC original follows Akari Taiyou, a girl who inherited tarot cards from her late mother and reluctantly finds herself locked in between a battle between the forces of the Elemental Tarot and the Diablos Tarot.

I do not get this show at all. I tried, but it’s confusing as all get out. Nor does the show try to make any sense. Also, I get the feeling this is trying (and failing) to build off the popularity of a certain dark, serious magical girl series from a few years back. Heck, I haven’t seen that show and even I know that.

Watamote ~No Matter How I Look at it, It’s You Guys Fault I’m Not Popular!~ (Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!)
This Silver Link adaptation of Nico Tanigawa’s manga follows Tomoko Kuroki, an hikikomori girl entering high school, only to find out her social life is completely fucked up.

I’m tired of all these long ass light novel titles. Oh wait, this isn’t a light novel. Well, I’m pretty on the fence about this show. I do find it funny, but sometimes I feel like it drags on for too long. Halfway through an episode, I sometimes think to myself “Is this episode over yet?” This show does have potential, but it’s not showing it right now.

Sunday Without God (Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi)
This Madhouse adaptation of Kimihito Irie and Shino’s light novel follows a young half-human half-gravekeeper girl named Ai, 15 years ago, God abandoned the world. As a result, no human being can ever die or be born. Also, a strange man named Hampnie Hambert appears whom Ai believes might be her father…

What’s this? A light novel series with an actual serious plot without moe-pandering or a long-ass title? It seems that way, and it shows alot of promise.

Silver Spoon (Gin no Saji)
This A-1 Pictures adaptation of Hiromu Arakawa’s manga follows Yugo Hachiken, who takes up agriculture in school. Of course, being a born and raised in the city, farm life turns out to be alot more than what he expected…

Obviously, I couldn’t not watch anything from the author of Fullmetal Alchemist. I think I’ll enjoy this one and I’m looking forward to what happens next with this one.

Recorder and Randsell Mi
I’m sorry, but how did Recorder and Randsell get a third season? I thought In case you were unaware about Recorder and Randsell, or if you need a refresher course: It’s a 3-minute series based on a yonkoma manga that follows Atsushi Miyagawa, a grade school student who looks like a young adult. His older sister, Atsumi, is a high school student who looks like a child. Atsushi unfortunately gets himself in a lot of strange problems with Atsumi’s friend, Sayu’s infatuation with him, constantly being mistaken for a pedophile and eventually arrested. It’s like that movie Jack. Heck, I’m willing to bet once Atsushi graduates from high school, he’s gonna look like a grandpa, and he probably… won’t live long enough… to even graduate from college… Anyway, same show as the previous two seasons, but the humor seems better this time around.

Gatchaman Crowds
This Tatsunoko original spinoff of Science Nnja Team Gatchaman is set in the summer of 2015. Amongst the population of Tachikawa City are certain individuals with latent powers awakened known as Gatchaman. Ordinary high school student Hajime Ichinose gets her powers awakened and becomes a Gatchaman, along with veteran Gatchaman Sugane Tachibana, Joe Hibiki, O.D., Utsu-tsu, and their commander Paiman, as they are assigned to protect Earth from alien criminals.

Well, the one show that I’ve had hopes for does not disappoint one bit. If this turns out disappointing, then I’m going to shoot myself.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear G: In the Distance, That Day, When The Star Became Music… (Screw you and your unnecessarily long title, MAL.)
The second season of Satelight’s Winter 2012 original is set a few months after the end of the first season. Tsubasa Kazanari, Hibiki Tachibana, and Chris Yukine defend the world from the threat of the Noise, but find new enemies in other Symphogear users from a terrorist organization known as Finé, one of them possessing a black version of Hibiki’s Symphogear, Gungnir.

Well, I found the first season to be okay, but now I’m beginning to find the second season better than the first already. Only time will tell if it continues at this rate.

Danganronpa the Animation
This Lerche adaptation of the PSP visual novel by Spike Chunsoft follows Makoto Naegi, an ordinary high school student enrolled in the Hope’s Peak Academy. He finds himself trapped in this school with 14 other students thanks to an evil teddy bear named Monokuma, who has them play a game where the fifteen students must kill each other in order to “graduate” from the academy.

So how do I describe this? Throw the cast of Future Diary and lock them in a high school. Probably not, because it definitely look like Danganronpa is being serious about this, as opposed to Future Diary, which was mostly mindless good fun.

One thought on “Summer 2013 // First Impressions

  1. GoodbyeNavi

    You are watching a lot but Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi seems like something I could get into. No moe-pandering? Awesome! I’ve not watched much this season, no time but I plan on getting back into the swing of things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

