JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure // First Impressions

Screenshot - 4_4_2014 , 1_09_08 PMSo as an anime fan, it seems to be an obligation to watch JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, so I gotta start somewhere. So what I’m gonna do is start with the 2012 version and work my way up to the current series.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure is a David Production adaptation of Hirohiko Araki’s manga. The story is set in late 19th Century England. Wealthy young aristrocrat Jonathan “JoJo” Joestar meets Dio Brando, an orphaned male whom the Joestars took in. However, Dio’s arrival meant making JoJo’s life Hell. Sure, Dio might seem quick to adapt to living like an aristrocrat more than JoJo is, but he does some real dickish stuff like kicking JoJo’s dog, fighting dirty in boxing, spreading nasty rumors about JoJo, stealing JoJo’s first kiss, and burning JoJo’s dog alive; all so he can usurp the Joestar fortune. Meanwhile, an Aztec stone mask will change their fates for generations.

So, yeah. first thing going through my mind right now? Dio is a dick. Quickly has risen to one of anime’s biggest dicks in my book in one episode alone. That’s a new record. Aside from that, it was a good first episode. I hear it’ll only get better from here, so I implore you to bear with this noob here.

So now that I’ve started watching JoJo, am I now part of the cool kids?

Leave a Reply

