Soul Eater NOT! // First Impressions

SoulEaterNotSince I just got done rewatching Soul Eater on Toonami, I should be able to jump in any related things no problem, right? But this one seems completely different from the Soul Eater I know well about…

Soul Eater NOT! is Studio Bones and Square Enix adaptaion of Atsushi Ohkubo’s manga spinoff/prequel to Soul Eater (Also written by the same author). The story follows Japanese schoolgirl Tsugumi Harudori, who learns she has the ability to transform into a halberd. She transfers to America and enrolls into the Death Weapon-Meister Academy’s NOT (Normally Overcome Target) Class along with Meisters Meme Tatane and Anya Hepburn, as opposed to the EAT (Especially Advantaged Talent) Class attended by Maka Albarn and her friends.

As you would expect, I was very uneasy about the direction Soul Eater NOT! has taken. However, as time went on and I got around to watching the first episode, I realized something: As the title implied, this is Soul Eater NOT! , so I should be expecting something different. And so I did and what I got from it was a pretty decent and funny start to something that could hopefully become a worthy spinoff.

Leave a Reply

