Ping Pong the Animation // First Impressions

OOHHHHHHHHHH YEAH!!! (Best OP of the season)

OOHHHHHHHHHH YEAH!!! (Best OP of the season)

I’m beginning to think that watching that Forrest Gump marathon on AMC that one week might’ve been warming me up for watching ping pong anime. Anyway, place your bets: How far can I go without making a single “Ping Pong Circulate” joke?

Ping Pong the Animation is a Tatsunoko adaptation of Taiyou Matsumoto’s manga. The story follows childhood friends Makoto “Smile” Tsukimoto and Yutaka “Peco” Hoshino who are in the local ping pong club at high school. Despite their contrasting personalities, they are known to be the best players there.

Half the reason I decided to watch Ping Pong was because it was directed by Masaaki Yuasa, who also directed Kick-Heart and The Tatami Galaxy (the latter I haven’t seen, but heard very good things about). The other half is because I like abstract art styles, such as this one. That aside, I don’t watch many sports anime, but I’m sure Yuasa can make ping pong look exciting to watch, which it is. So far, it seems to be the anime to watch this season.

Leave a Reply

