Sailor Moon Crystal // First Impressions

Fighting evil by moonlight. Winning love by daylight. Never running from a real fight. Uhhhh... Someone had better double-check that last part, because I don't think that was entirely true.

Fighting evil by moonlight. Winning love by daylight. Never running from a real fight.
Uhhhh… Someone had better double-check that last part, because I don’t think that was entirely true.

OK, guys. I have a confession to make: Contrary to what I’ve always been saying, Samurai Pizza Cats is not the first anime I’ve ever watched. I only say that because it’s the only anime I actually remember watching all the way through and therefore consider it my first anime. To tell you the truth, before that, I’ve seen some episodes of Sailor Moon but outside of its ridiculously catchy English opening theme song. I have very vague memories of it. I was like 5 years old at the time. You can’t expect me to remember every single detail about the early 90’s. So Samurai Pizza Cats being my first anime is true from a certain point of view. So in preparation of the new version, I’ve spent some time reliving what little old memories I had and building some new memories with the original series. That aside, it’s finally here: The 20th Anniversary remake after being delayed for about two years now. Hallelujah! After missing said anniversary for two years, but hey, we forgave Capcom for doing that with Mega Man‘s 15th.

Sailor Moon Crystal, Toei Animation’s newer, more faithful adaptation of Naoko Takeuchi’s manga, follows 14-year old klutzy schoolgirl Usagi Tsukino who, after rescuing a mysterious black cat with a crescent moon-shaped marking on her forehead named Luna, becomes the pretty guardian of love and justice, Sailor Moon. However, the evil forces of the Dark Kingdom, led by Queen Beryl, is sending monsters to the Juban bistrict to harvest human energy until they can find the Legendary Silver Crystal, and it’s up to Usagi and the other four Sailor Guardians; Ami Mizuno (Sailor Mercury), Rei Hino (Sailor Mars), Makoto Kino (Sailor Jupiter), and Minako Aino (Sailor Venus), to put an end to Queen Beryl’s plans and locate the Princess of the Moon Kingdom.

How I managed to contain myself watching this episode, I have no idea. But the first episode lived up to my expectations. It mainly followed the original series’ first episode’s plot with a few changes here and there. Although the CGI transformation I’m not too crazy about. It was good CGI, but kinda distracting at times. Anyway looking forward to watching this, big time. Since this is a biweekly series, I have to make use the of the original series to tide me over. WHY IS THIS BIWEEKLY?!

Leave a Reply

