Harem Art Online II #14 & #15

I have to remind myself that this is a girl who was once traumatized by gun violence.

I have to remind myself that this is a girl who was once traumatized by gun violence.

OK, I had to take some time off after Episode 13 to cool off, because Sword Art Online went back to being insulting and gross. Did you expect it not to?

So let’s start off with Episode 14. “Best story arc”, my big toe. The GGO arc was pretty terrible. Honestly, it’s only an improvement (albeit not a very big one) over Fairy Dance, but worse than the Aincrad arc. It’s filled with the same stupidity I’ve come to expect from Sword Art Online. Unlike Aincrad, it at least had a resolution that wasn’t half-assed except for Kyouji aiming the syringe at the EXACT spot where Kazuto’s heart monitor is. I’m not even sure if that’s a deus ex machina or just sheer dumb luck. Probably both.

This one moment will forever remind me as to why SAO 2 is just more of the same: Something destined only to ruin itself even further

This one moment will forever remind me as to why SAO 2 is just more of the same: Something destined only to ruin itself even further

And speaking of that little prick who I knew was Death Gun from the very beginning because it was made blatantly obvious in the episode he appeared. The way that scene was handled, by turning the boy into yet another creepy rapey maniac just to make a cheap shock reaction, was so badly done and it completely ruined his character. And of course whenever some creep tries to badtouch the women, Kirito has to save them. I thought this show would’ve learned not to do this thing, but some things never change. I tried to give this SAO 2 a fair chance, but almost every episode it gave a reason why I shouldn’t have.

And how does this arc conclude itself? By having our hero make his new harem member make peace with the fact that she actually saved the post office attendant’s life because she was pregnant, and now her PTSD magically disappears. Even though Kazuto basically invaded Shino’s personal business, it’s okay because her fear of guns is no more.

Screw you, Sword Art Online. Screw the fuck you.

If the idiots that wrote this garbage actually knew a thing or two about post-traumatic stress, then they would’ve known that it doesn’t just comes and goes whenever the plot mandates it to. No matter how much therapy or self-help one takes, the fear is with you forever. Even if you’re at a point where a finger gun, or a fake gun,wouldn’t scare you, seeing a real gun would trigger a shock. Here, Sinon can handle a gun with no problem at all. I think what Sinon really has here is a different type of PTSD: Plot-Triggered Stupidity Disorder.

And after all that stuff in GGO, what happens to Sinon? Take a wild guess.

No, seriously. Take a wild guess.

In case you forgot that being a female character in SAO means crossing paths with Kirito will lead her into his harem eventually. Man, poor Klein. He's just pushed aside in the background like that.

In case you forgot that being a female character in SAO means crossing paths with Kirito will lead her into his harem eventually.
Man, poor Klein. He’s just pushed aside in the background like that.

And watching paint dry was less boring than Episode 15. Apparently these next few episodes are about Kirito and his harem on a sidequest in ALO to find the Holy Sword Excalibur.

No, not this Excalibur, unfortunately. Honestly, I'd much rather he show up, then he'd make this garbage somewhat bearable.

No, not this Excalibur, unfortunately. Honestly, I’d much rather he show up, then he’d make this garbage somewhat bearable.

If this episode is an example of what’s to come then the next few episodes, then I’m getting the feeling that they’re probably no less than worthless filler.

If you ask me, at this point, I get the feeling that Sword Art Online is starting to run out of ideas, assuming it hasn’t already by being a blatant ripoff of .hack//SIGN. (By the way, go watch that if you want a real “Trapped in an MMO” anime), and just decided to be harem junk because it wants to be. As far as I’m concerned, the second season is the same insulting and gross garbage as the first. Now I’m just watching it to get it over with. And don’t even give me that “next arc will be better” story, because no way am I buying that again.

2 thoughts on “Harem Art Online II #14 & #15

  1. DarkstarZero Post author

    Oh my. Stop it, you’re scaring me./sarcasm

    By the way, Petty insults and death threats are not a good argument. What it really proves is how childish you really are.

    Trust me, it’s fanboys like you who embodies what’s wrong with this show. But if you feel if you must, please continue on with your paper-thin defense of your misogynistic teen power fantasy.

    Reply
  2. Jeanine

    I don’t know who told you the Gun Gale Arc was the best. I mean, I read the entire light novel series and I never found that arc pleasing.
    I’ll have to admit, the next arc was the only arc in sword art online that made me feel sorry for one character. It starts on episode 19 luckily. I had to go through so many trashy episodes to get there. Keep on reviewing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

