Sword Art Offline II #23 & #24(End)

Screenshot - 7_5_2014 , 3_01_21 PM

Go to Hell, SAO. Go to the seventh layer of Hell along with Mahouka and stay there. Forever.

Well, I think I’m officially exhausted with Sword Art Online. It shows because I’m not even up to watching it again for screencaps (The above screencap is from the first episode and I don’t really like making posts without screencaps). Yeah, I mean, I’m committed to finishing what I start, but is it really worth it? I mean, it’s not like it’s getting any better. When I start to think it does, it only gets worse. And I have to constantly put up with it because a premise like this deserves better and I want to see it for myself how worse it gets. Yes, I’ve accepted the fact that it is popular (and undeserving of its popularity), and that a third season is unfortunately likely, but everyone is entitled to have an opinion, whether they like it or not. Seriously, if you that it’s impossible to dislike Sword Art Online (or any other anime for that matter) and attack anyone who disagrees with you, you are a terrible anime fan.

So without further ado, I’m going to do what I do best: Be the Christmas Grinch by pissing off Sword Art Online fanboys the world over. Then I can just grab some booze and drink it all away. And then just watch .hack//SIGN and Log Horizon. Y’know, real MMO anime.

I will always hate Sword Art Online with every fiber of my being for as long as I live. Because it somehow manages to show itself it can be decent every so often only to jump back to being garbage again and make me look like a fool for getting my hopes up for nothing. I was legitimately thinking that the Mother’s Rosario would be the only good thing to come out of Sword Art Online up until these last three episodes proved that thought wrong. It wasn’t any better than the last few arcs? In fact, it was probably up there with Fairy Dance as the worst arc to date.

Yeah, nope. I still find this “Everyone has AIDS” story to be one of the worst things Sword Art Online has ever done. It’s just an underhanded, manipulative way to create cheap drama, and it makes Yuuki/Zekken into a Sympathy Sue, a character that the story demands you to feel sad for her. Don’t get me wrong; I don’t dislike Yuuki at all, but what I really dislike is that the story is just using her as an excuse to beg for sympathy. It’s pathetic, insulting, and infuriating. I would’ve honestly thought that she was the best female character in Sword Art Online, which says a lot, considering that the rest of them are nothing but waifus for Kirito’s harem.

And even the way how she even got the AIDS sounds completely nonsensical and unrealistic. It was mentioned that after giving birth to her via C-section, Yuuki’s mom lost alot of blood and recieved a transfusion of HIV-infected blood and they never knew about it until after giving it to her. As a result, everyone in the family contracted AIDS. Hospitals run tests on blood for any signs of infections before giving it to people instead of just going like “Hey, here’s some blood. Oops, looks like it was infected. Sorry we just made your days numbered. No biggie, right?”

I’ve said this numerous times before: Sword Art Online cannot do any kind of serious drama without making it look contrived as shit. Episode 23 has a scene where Asuna shows her mom the virtual world to let her see the world the way she does and after she sees some virtual snow, she goes from “These video games are death machines” to “OH MY GOD VIDYA GEEMZ ARE TEH AWESOME REAL LIFE IS FOR PUSSIES!”, or something like that. It just made me want to roll my eyes and facepalm. In said order. Like, damn! That was the most sappiest thing yet. Like I said a bunch of times: This “video game is better than real life” message it keeps shoving down my throat is complete bullshit, and it only proves that these people, and anyone who honestly believes this so-called moral, are in desperate need of a reality check.

But wait, only one more episode left! Will the sappiness increase tenfold?

Yes it does, because Zekken passes away while all the ALO players (presumably the players that she fought against in PvP battles) gather to pay their respects. I mean really? Why go through all these lengths just to give a sendoff for this character you barely knew for like a few episodes?

Later, we learn that the data the hospital received from examining Yuuki actually helped advance medical technology for the better. That’s cool and all, but then we learn who was really behind this innovative new discovery in medical technology: Akihiko goddamn Kayaba. Yeah, you know, that guy that essentially committed mass murder for reasons unknown even to himself and yet did some good stuff like help Kirito save Asuna from that dirtbag Sugou, and help advance medical technology, so we can ignore the fact that he killed thousands of people. Whatever. It’s a load of crap. You can make Kayaba this great person all you’d like, Sword Art Online, but you can’t keep trying to sweep under the rug the fact that he was responsible for the deaths of more than 3,000 people and expect anyone to ignore that because he did a few good deeds. Fuck you, Sword Art Online! That’s not how that works, you brainless asshats.

I don’t understand how anyone can say Season 2 is better. If you ask me, it’s the same idiotic, sexist, insulting crap as the first season. If anything, it’s worse than the first season: Same bland characters. Same stupid writing. Same terrible execution. Same cheap, manipulative drama; and it’s anime like this one that needs to be thrown into the garbage, where it belongs.  I think we’re done here.

Leave a Reply

