The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan // First Impressions

Screenshot - 4_6_2015 , 8_12_23 PMSo it’s been like, what, years since we’ve had anything new for Haruhi Suzumiya series, and this one is a spinoff starring Yuki Nagato as the lead.

The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan, a Satelight adaptation of Puyo’s manga, is set in the Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya arc of the light novel series. Basically, the alternate universe where Haruhi doesn’t have her godlike reality-bending powers, and there are no such thing as aliens, espers, and what have you. Here, it follows the Literature Club president Yuki Nagato and the only two members, Kyon and Ryoko Asakura.

I’d never thought I’d say this, because Nagato’s my favorite character, and I was really worried about the fact that Kyoto Animation wasn’t doing this, but I’m really let down by this. Like seriously, everyone here looks drastically different, it feels like I’m not even watching the same thing. I don’t think I like this moeblob-ish Nagato. I prefer the emotionless, data-manipulating cosmic entity Nagato. If Nagato Yuki-chan turns out to be a massive turkey like, dare I say, Haruhi season 2 *shudder*, then this is gonne be indeed a disturbing universe and something that I probably shouldn’t hold my breath for.

Leave a Reply

