Ghost in the Shell: Arise – Alternative Architecture // First Impressions

Screenshot - 6_7_2015 , 8_59_38 AMSo here’s a late entry for this Spring season. Sincethe first 8 episodes of Ghost in the Shell: Arise – Alternative Architecture is just the first four hour-length OVA movies repackaged into 8 half-hour TV episodes, I skipped on them since I’ve already seen them once. I wasn’t up to rewatching what has already been seen, so I decided to put off on this until the Pyrophoric Cult episodes, that will lead into the upcoming Ghost in the Shell movie, starts airing. So this First Impressions post is dedicated to those episodes.

Ghost in the Shell: Arise, a Production I.G original based on Shirow Masamune’s manga, is set in Newport City, year 2027; a year after World War IV. The story follows a younger Major Motoko Kusanagi in her days as a hacker for the 501 Organization before Public Security Section 9 was established. The Alternative Architecture-exclusive episodes, titled Pyrophoric Cult, follows Kusanagi and her squad as they deal with a terrorist bomber known as Fire-Starter and his broker, known as Pyromania.

I haven’t been much of a fan of Arise as I have been the first movie or Stand Alone Complex, so I’m not gonna cross my fingers that Pyrophoric Cult will have any impact on my overall opinion of it. But it appears to be a decent story on its own merits.

Leave a Reply

