Michiko & Hatchin // First Impressions [Toonami Broadcast]

OK, so here’s what I’m gonna do. Since Michiko & Hatchin is brand new to me as it airs on Toonami, I’m gonna do an opener post akin to my First Impressions post. I’m only gonna do this for shows that are new to me, so if it’s a show I’ve seen(such as Akame ga Kill!), don’t expect anything.

Michiko & Hatchin, an original by Manglobe (the studio that produced also Samurai Champloo and Deadman Wonderland), follows Michiko Malandro, a convict who has escaped out of a maximum-security prison to see her old boyfriend, Hiroshi. Instead, she found Hiroshi’s daughter, Hana Morenos, living like Cinderella at an abusive foster home. Together, Michiko and Hana travel around Brazil in search of Hiroshi.

So Michiko & Hatchin is directed by Sayo Yamamoto, who was the director of Episodes 2 and 20 of Space Dandy, who has good relation with Shinichiro Watanabe, who is only involved in Michiko & Hatchin with music production rather than any of the story. Anyhoo, this was— Somebody tell me this foster house burns to the ground during this series run. Because… The way these people treat Hana, I can’t think of any other fate these assholes deserve. I’ve never been so disgusted towards a foster family in a long while. Cinderella had it better than Hana. Aside from that, it was a very good first episode. Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

