Aria the Scarlet Ammo AA // First Impressions

Screenshot - 10_13_2015 , 5_22_53 PMAfter 2011, I breathed a sigh of relief that Aria the Scarlet Ammo was long forgotten and that everyone, including J.C Staff who has recently gotten off my shitlist (Thank you, Prison School), finally realized that loli-tsundere characters are really just annoying little shits. Here we all are, four and a half years later, and a series that should’ve stayed dead somehow came back in a sad attempt to stay relevant. That’s cute.

Aria the Scarlet Ammo AA, a (apparently outsourced by) Dogakobo adaptation of Chuugaku Akamatsu’s manga spinoff of the same author’s light novel Aria the Scarlet Ammo, follows Akari Mamiya, a  E-Rank (lowest rank) at the Tokyo Butei High School, who idolizes the S-Rank 2nd-year Aria H. Kanzaki. The school has an tutor system called Amica, where one of the top-ranked students is paired up with a lower-ranked for training, and the story follows Akari as she works to get Aria as her Amica.

Why the heck Akari wants that little snot-nosed brat as an Amica is beyond me.Yeah, feel free to blame me on my complete apathy towards the series and loli-tsundere characters as a whole and my desire to erase every trace of it, but I was not interested in this episode. Heck, I was pretty much bored out of my skull throughout this whole episode. The show has been known to use alot of action movie cliches. Heck, one episode was a whole plot reference to Speed. And also, I fail to believe that Aria has really matured since the previous series. Sure, she acts all cool and stuff, but I’m waiting for the moment someone pisses her off so I can prove my point as to why loli-tsunderes are never good characters. Honestly, this spinoff, and its parent series, is no better than all these generic high school harem light novel anime plaguing this entire season.

Leave a Reply

