Thoughts About Code Geass: Fukkatsu no Lelouch

news_xlarge_geass10th_keySo Code Geass is getting a direct sequel, 10 years later. Titled Code Geass: Fukkatsu no Lelouch (Lelouch of the Resurrection), it is set a few years after the Zero Requiem, and Lelouch himself is the main character.

I’m much more cautious about this than I was towards Dragon Ball Super and the new FLCL. I’m open to seeing it, but I’m not very excited for it because it ended well, with no loose ends.

MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Basically Lelouch had this entire plan that involves becoming the emperor of Britannia, declaring war on the United Federation of Nations (Basically the other half of the world that isn’t under Britannia), defeat them and rule the entire world with an iron fist, so that Suzaku would become Zero and kill Lelouch, and Zero would become the hero who saved the world from Emperor Lelouch vi Britannia.

So you understand why I’m not too crazy about this new series. Personally, I would not mind another spinoff like Akito the Exiled, or an anime adaptation of the spinoff manga Nightmare of Nunnally.

I mean, I guess they feel like there’s more story to tell, but honestly I kinda wish they didn’t involve Lelouch. Because it overrides the (mostly) happy ending that the series ended on. If Lelouch is still alive, somehow survived getting run through the chest, wouldn’t that nullify the entire purpose of the Zero Requiem? I think Sunrise read someone’s weird theories about Lelouch surviving and just decided to go from there. I mean from what I heard, that’s how they made a maid character into a ninja.

Remember what heppnes when you get shitty sequels to shows that really didn’t need one *gets sudden flashes of Eureka Seven: Astral Ocean, Infinite Stratos 2, Psycho-Pass 2, and Aldnoah.Zero 2nd Half.* …Huh. Well, that was weird.

Anyway, remember If it sucks, it’s okay to disassociate it with the rest of the show. Until then. dust off the memes and start up those Pizza Hut orders! Actually no, Pizza Hut kinda stinks as of recently. I’m getting tired of that floppy paper-thin shit they call pizza. That’s why I prefer Domino’s. But that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

