Seasonal Anime Reviews: Fall 2016

I mean, yeah, there were a ton of butts this season.

I mean, yeah, there were a ton of butts this season.

Seasonal Thoughts: Well, I guess the “One good season per year” curse seems to be broken for now, as this was a fairly good season. I was about ready to write it off as a bust and move on and start planning for next year, but honestly, there were a numer of noteworthy shows this season. I’m glad anime 2016 closed out this way,

So Doctor Strange was better than I imagined it to be. And so was Rogue One. I enjoyed that too, more than I did The Force Awakens. I lo

Well, this looks to be the end of Team Aqua and their Bizarre Adventure.

Well, this looks to be the end of Team Aqua and their Bizarre Adventure.

Pokémon Generations
Here we have another example of “The main Pokémon anime will never have animation as good as this.” (Or does that quote still apply after the XY anime?) And let’s be real: this show does have some sweet animation. So Pokémon Generations was a fairly decent watch it shows some and offers a bit of insight in the world of the games and all the stuff that happens in between. I kinda wish we had more episodes because I think there might be a few things that need to be brought to light, if the Ultra Beast sidequest in Sun and Moon is of any indication. [Score: 7.5]


You know how this is an alternate history? When someone comes up with an alternate America that's freakin' called the United States of Atlanta.

You know how this is an alternate history? When someone comes up with an alternate America that’s freakin’ called the United States of Atlanta.

Izetta: The Last Witch (Shuumatsu no Izetta)
Since Izetta‘s inception, I had to restrain myself from making a certain comparison to another show from last year. I’m sure you know the one (Actually, no, you don’t). Anyway, I’m just gonna say it right now: Yes, Izetta: The Last Witch and Maria the Virgin Witch does indeed share a similar concept, but the latter executed stuff better than Izetta did. Now that I finally gotten that out of my system. This show had a lot of potential going for it at the start, and I wanted to believe that Hiroyuki Yoshino heading it would be a fluke. And even if I can turn a blind eye to the blatantly obvious yuri undertones, I still found it fairly good up until after the first few episodes. But unfortunately, the show was brought down by some out-of-character moments, and writing that REALLY stretches my suspension of disbelief, even for an alternate timeline version of World War II. I believe I drew the line at Nazis creating cloning technology in the 1940’s. I really didn’t like Izetta as much as I thought I would, nor would I say I disliked it much; Compared to Guilty Crown, I wouldn’t barely even consider Izetta to be a trainwreck. But I really should’ve saw it coming that Yoshino attached to it would be a big red flag. [Score: 7]


Obvious shock value opening scene; also known as "how to instantly tell that your show is gonna be stupid."

Obvious shock value opening scene; also known as “how to instantly tell that your show is gonna be stupid.”

Magical Girl Raising Project (Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku)
I thought that the idea behind Magical Girl Raising Project sounded good on paper. And I admit that I’ve been a bit of a sucker for the dark magical girl genre for quite awhile. But boy, did this show shit the bed on its execution. I mean, I like the art design and what have you, but the rest of the show is heavily reliant on shock value; and while shock value isn’t bad as long as it’s executed correctly and not done cheaply, the problem here is the people who write this show went to the Akame ga Kill! School of Developing Characters, which is as follows: Step 1: Don’t develop them throughout the entire story. Step 2: Give them a backstory. Step 3: Kill them off shortly after Step 2. That’s how you make your characters feel artificial. This show is lucky I didn’t blurt out the eight deadly words. And then you have our so-called protagonist who does absolutely nothing over the course of 12 episodes. What an absolute waste of space. I guess if you like watching undeveloped characters getting brutally slaughtered pointlessly, then I suppose Magical Girl Raising Project is right up your alley. Or better yet, you can go watch Madoka Magica or Yuki Yuna is a Hero instead, two shows that actually succeeded where Magical Girl Raising Project failed at. [Score: 4.5]


Oh, boy. It happened. The show has become self-aware.

Oh, boy. It happened. The show has become self-aware.

Matoi the Sacred Slayer (Soushin Shoujo Matoi)
In all fairness, Matoi the Sacred Slayer isn’t really all that terrible. But let’s be honest here: this show most likely will be remembered fondly by none. And I think I know why: The story isn’t really all that interesting. I mean, I don’t expect a unique, original story, but I can think of a ton of anime I’ve seen that has done everything Matoi did, and did it way better. Not to mention that the show’s story feels like a few unreleated plots thrown together haphazardly in order to make itself look different. That said, the animation is rather colorful and well done in certain moments and it has just enough heart to keep me watching it to the end at the very least. Although I hardly ever see anyone ever discussing it every Tuesday. I think they might’ve forgotten it just as quickly as it started. So I guess it won’t be remembered much. [Score: 6]


Are people seriously saying that Yuri!!! on Ice was subtle about the gay couple.In case you were living under a rock, subtlety was thrown out the window since Episode 7.

Are people seriously saying that Yuri!!! on Ice was subtle about the gay couple.In case you were living under a rock, subtlety was thrown out the window since Episode 7.

Yuri!!! on ICE
Back when Yuri!!! on ICE was first announced, I don’t think anyone would’ve guessed how much it would take the entire world by storm. Heck, even professional figure skaters took notice of it and made their praise known. And personally, I think it deserves every single bit of praise it gets. Yuri!!! on ICE is essentially an underdog story, with the added element of it being a strong, hopeful, emotion-driven drama about how two people in love can make their dreams come true. Two male people in love, I must point out. I cannot think of another anime from the last few years that has floored the entire anime community, and even those outside of it. Sayo Yamamoto, Mitsuro Kubo, and all of Studio Mappa made us expect a sports anime and gave us something much, much more. All of the themes handled here, LGBT, self-esteem, and what have you, are handled perfectly and are grounded in reality and fleshed out very good as anyone wouldn’t expect to be. Honestly, this show is an unbelievablly fantastic experience and honestly, everything I’ve said here is merely scratching the surface. It must be seen to be believed. If I may say it just this once, Yuri!!! on Ice really was born to make history. Bless your sweet little heart, Sayo Yamamoto. [Score: 9.5]


I mean, I guess someone had to ask that question, but I'm wondering why even bother asking the question.

I mean, I guess someone had to ask that question, but I’m wondering why even bother asking the question.

Drifters
I’d say that if you were part of the folks that loved the nonsensical, yet fun bloodbath that was Hellsing Ultimate, then I’m sure Drifters would be the type of show you can sit back, turn your brain off, grab some popcorn, and watch and enjoy. That said, Drifters does have some moments where I do have to turn my brain back on and realize that the story development needs a lot to be desired. Granted, Drifters isn’t exactly the kind of show where you’re supposed to watch it for the story. To be fair, I found the story lacking with Hellsing Ultimate as well, so I guess I might be able to sum that up as a gripe with Kouta Hirano’s writing in general. All complains aside, Drifters was certainly worth a watch and I’m looking forward to the next season, whenever that’ll be. [Score: 8]


"Oh, those are known as the shitbags of the earth who has no idea what true love is.".

“Oh, those are known as the shitbags of the earth who has no idea what true love is.”.

Lostorage incited WIXOSS
So once again, I find myself thrust into the world of WIXOSS yet again, and that once again includes the card games and drama between cute girls with conspicuously absent parents, and the intriguing story behind these card games. And I still end up having the same issues with Lostorage that I had with selector two years ago. Yeah, I suppose you can just chalk it up to the fact that I’m just not a fan of WIXOSS at all. I mean, I still don’t know how to play the damn card game, and the show isn’t bothering to show me how. And that is a major problem when your show revolves around these card games. I think I realize what the major issue with the WIXOSS anime as a whole: Because the show never explains the mechanics of the game, all of the gameplay featured in the show falls flat. Overall, Lostorage is still an okay ride, but a rather bumpy one. I still don’t understand why these people keep playing these card games. [Score: 7]


I've seen some weird weapons in anime, but I think the electrified mop is the one that's gonna take it for now.

I’ve seen some weird weapons in anime, but I think the electrified mop is the one that’s gonna take it for now.

Occultic;Nine
Somewhere underneath Occultic;Nine‘s caffeine-overdosed insanity is a potentially good supernatural mystery-driven show. There are a few moments per episode that are actually pretty intriguing, and the art direction during some of its most suspenseful moments are pretty well done. Then the rest of the show jumps to ludicrous speed, and then I get lost trying to catch up, and then I just stop trying to follow it, and then I end up with a slight migrane. The only way to make sense of this is to chug a couple pots of coffee. I’m definitely sure the creators  and the voices behind it did the same thing. It doesn’t help that the characters are as equally as obnoxious, especially you-know-who. I’m willing to bet that if you remove whatever the hell that massively-breasted bimbo is (I don’t even remember her name, and I don’t think it really matters anyway because I forget it moments later) from the whole thing entirely, it would barely affect anything at all. Heck, she is the main reason why I never want to watch this show. But hey, at least ChäoS;Child is looking pretty good, eh? [Score: 4]


Tite Kubo (and probably any other manga artist) would probably snap his drawing pencils if he saw Rohan's drawing skills.

Tite Kubo (and probably any other manga artist) would probably snap his drawing pencils if he saw Rohan’s drawing skills.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
Once again, David Production continues to deliver probably the most faithful manga-to-anime adaptations to grace 2016, and it continues to never disappoint. With it’s, well, bizarre humor and colorful cast of characters, Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure never ceases to be awesome and amazing. And it has never looked better. The color designs during its best moments are on point. As a matter of fact, Diamond is Unbreakable actually rectifies a small number of gripes that I had while watching Stardust Crusaders. One of which being the Stand powers have much more interesting abilities. Granted, I gave Stardust Crusaders the benefit of the doubt because it seemed like Hirohiko Araki was just figuring out Stand powers as that story went along. Also, the pacing here is much more evened out over 39 episodes versus 48 episodes. It certainly was able to get the story done without feeling drawn out or rushed. Now that I think of it, this is probably the same plot of Persona 4. Anyway, from what I’ve read, Vento Aureo, the next Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure arc, is supposedly the weakest story, more so than Phantom Blood, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. [Score: 9.5]


Fall 2016 Season APR
1: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
1: Yuri!!! on Ice
3: Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans 2nd Season (ongoing)
4: Drifters
5: Dragon Ball Super (ongoing)
6: Pokémon Generations
7: All Out!! (ongoing)
8: Izetta: The Last Witch
9: Lostorage incited WIXOSS
10: Nanbaka (ongoing)
11: Matoi the Sacred Slayer
12: Magical Girl Raising Project
13: Time Bokan 24 (ongoing)
14: Occultic;Nine


Favorite Themes
“Hikari aru Basho e” by May’n (Izetta: The Last Witch Ending Theme)
“History Maker” by Dean Fujioka (Yuri!!! on Ice Opening Theme)
“Dreamcatcher” by nano (Magical Girl Raising Project Ending Theme)
“Gospel of the Throttle (Kyouhon REMIX ver.)” by Minutes til Midnight (Drifters Opening Theme)


Next Season Preview: All Out!!, Nanbaka, Iron-Blooded Orphans, Time Bokan 24, and Dragon Ball Super will continue next season, while I also intend to watch Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Saga, Koro-sensei Quest!ChäoS;Child, Little Witch Academia TV, Seiren, Scum’s WishYoujo Senki, and the second half of Tales of Zestiria the X. Yeah, a grand total of 8 new shows. I don’t feel like watching alot of stuff next Winter. I might pick up a few other shows, assuming there isn’t one that tries to choke on its expectations.

One thought on “Seasonal Anime Reviews: Fall 2016

  1. Pingback: 2016 Anime Year in Review | [the jinxed darkstar blog]

Leave a Reply

