How Anime Strike Struck Out

I like to think that Rin is actually screaming in agony over haveing to pay $160 a year for just one streaming service.

As you know, 2017 saw the inception of Anime Strike, Amazon’s anime streaming service, which was probably in response to the Crunchyroll/Funimation partnership. They’ve been streaming anime through their video service for quite a while, but they’ve eventually made it a dedicated service. And it has pissed off alot of folks who stream anime. And now they’ve crossed me by locking up a few shows that I was planning to watch.

So on my Spring anime watchlist, there was Rage of Bahamut: Virgin Soul (Pretty much the one show I was looking forward to the most aside from Attack on Titan Season 2 and My Hero Academia 2), Sword Oratoria: Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? On the Side, Anonymous Noise, and Atom: The Beginning. As you’ve probably concluded, these four are streaming exclusively on Anime Strike, and that’s not good. Here’s the rundown: In order to use Anime Strike, you need to first have an Amazon Prime subscription, which costs $11 per month (or $99 per year), then subscribe to Anime Strike, which costs $5 per month. Altogether, that’s two paywalls costing $16 per month.

Isn’t it odd that other streaming services, even Hulu and Netflix, which are general TV and movie streaming services offer much more than Anime Strike for less than half their asking price? Now, Amazon Prime on its own offers a for about you get free 2-day shipping, 20% off new release video games, access to Prime Now (an online grocer), their music streaming service (you can listen to the Star Wars soundtracks for free if you have Prime!!!), and their video streaming service, along with early access to huge discounts. Also, if you are a Twitch user, you get Twitch Prime along with it, which nets you some free in-game loot. Prime isn’t tnat bad, really. It’s pricey, but I get my money’s worth out of it.

Now if they made Anime Strike a completely standalone service without Amazon Prime and/or, better yet, just include it within Prime, that’d be groovy. In fact, when Amazon first entered the anime streaming business, they were pretty fine. They had Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress, Battery and some other anime, and all you had to do was get a Prime subscription. And I admit, watching Kabaneri was one of the reasons why I renewed my Prime sub.

If you remember, Scum’s Wish was on my Winter watchlist, which was grabbed by Anime Strike. It annoyed me, but not as much as it did this season since I was considering using the 1-week trial to bingewatch Scum’s Wish once it finished airing and then canceling as soon as I’m done, but with how bored I was with that Winter season, I doubt I’d be able to finish it in time. And of course there’s always the illegal option, but that would be considered stealing and hurting the industry more than Anime Strike is. What irks me the most is that Rage of Bahamut: Virgin Soul‘s prequel series, Rage of Bahamut: Genesis, was licensed by Funimation, so they get screwed over too. Now, it’s likely that the home video rights are still up for grabs (Especially since Crunchyroll and Funimation had home video rights to Kabaneri), but nowadays I like to stream anime before deciding whether or not I want to own it on home video. What if I blind-buy one these shows that Anime Strike streamed and end up not liking them? That’s $60+ wasted. And yes, there is a chance that I may not like Bahamut: Virgin Soul since Bahamut: Genesis was one of my favorite shows for 2014, and that worries me.

…Is Rage of Bahamut: Manaria Friends still happening? I’ve heard nothing about it since last year…

Gee, thanks a lot, Anime Strike, for screwing over a third of my Spring watching plans. Now I gotta watch friggin’ Eromanga-sensei (Also on Anime Strike, but you’re better off watching it on Crunchyroll instead)

Leave a Reply

