Look Back at Nintendo Power

NOW YOU’RE PLAYING WITH POWER!

Well, if you’ve been following latest gaming news, then you should know that magazine Nintendo Power is on its way out. Nintendo of America has confirmed that their Dewcember 2012 issue will be their final.

You all remember Nintendo Power, right? It was like the coolest magazine ever! For only 19.95 per year, you can get all the latest Nintendo news and goodies sent directly to your mailbox, and all those kickass pinups. It was the most awesome thing ever. Remember the ad with a frozen Super Nintendo? Nah, it really wasn’t frozen; It was actually just a plastic shell. But you gotta admit that was pretty cool (No pun intended).

My older brother and I used to read it back when he had a subscription up until the Nintendo 64 days. One thing I mostly remember was the comic book adapatation of Star Fox that was in there while that game was out. But we still had some awesome stuff, like the promo video for Star Fox 64 in all of its cheesy glory. We also got the one for Diddy Kong Racing.

As a matter of fact, I remember first hearing about Pokémon through Nintendo Power. Back when Pokémon Red and Blue for the Game Boy was first coming out, they had this 6-issue mini-magazine called Pokémon Power. In each issue, the first half was a section of the walkthrough of the game and the second half was a comic adaptation of an episode of the Pokémon anime.

I once got my own subscription in the summer of 2005. I started when they were doing a three-month free trial subscription promotion. I think it was because I registered games. After the trial period went up, I was able to buy the first full year subscription for $12, and I kept renewing each year until 201o where I just decided to quit screwing around and get a two-year subscription.

The last subscriber issue I recieved.

I was planning on renewing eventually before this summer went up but, well…, that seems futile now. Either way, I’m still gonna buy their last issue, either a subscriber copy on eBay if they have something special in there. If not, just a regular newsstand copy.

Here’s to you, Nintendo Power. Farewell, old friend.

Leave a comment